Waiting for Review

Episode Archive

Episode Archive

182 episodes of Waiting for Review since the first episode, which aired on January 25th, 2017.

  • 182: Hitting the SwiftUI edge

    August 27th, 2020  |  31 mins 2 secs

    After some accidental headphone discussion, we catch up with how Dave Wood has been getting on with his SwiftUI journey

  • 181: Get on the list!

    August 20th, 2020  |  28 mins 49 secs

    We failed not to talk about Epic and Apple, the App Store, and many other things. Meanwhile, Dave Wood started a twitter thread for iOS indie apps and their developers

  • 180: All Alone

    August 13th, 2020  |  26 mins 39 secs

    Dave Wood is recovering well from his concussion, and making steady progress with the SwiftUI rebuild of his video mixing app.
    Meanwhile, Dave Nott is home alone, and considering leaving iOS for the world of video streaming, and online gaming.

  • 179: I Made An App

    August 6th, 2020  |  42 mins 46 secs

    This week, we think about PC vs Mac pricing, and how Apple remain relevant and appealing in the face of such incredible value from the PC market. Apple Silicon, and finally, Dave Nott built an app... !

  • 178: Just Enough To Be Dangerous

    July 30th, 2020  |  27 mins 11 secs

    Dave Nott can't enough of Big Sur (despite having installed it in the wrong way), and Dave Wood sets out on a big update to his app using SwiftUI

  • 177: A Blurry Line

    July 23rd, 2020  |  30 mins 37 secs

    An eclectic episode this week as we discuss making an iCloud Drive based music player (and why it might not be a great idea!).

    This makes us wonder, when does a hobby become a business, and a business become a hobby? - it's a blurry line.

  • 176: Fool Me Once...

    July 16th, 2020  |  27 mins 45 secs

    This week we discuss platforms, and what makes one catch on, whilst others fail. We touch upon the issues certain apps have had with a certain SDK, and Dave Wood catches up with his SwiftUI app architecture

  • 175: Minimum Viable Architecture

    July 9th, 2020  |  38 mins 30 secs

    Dave Nott nearly sells his 16" MacBook Pro and Dave Wood falls down the rabbit hole (again!) of trying to find the perfect architecture for his SwiftUI projects

  • 174: Waiting For An iOS Gold Master

    July 2nd, 2020  |  31 mins 9 secs

    After narrowly avoiding rushing into beta 1 of iOS 14, we take a dive into some of the new features and functionality that iOS 14 will bring us

  • 173: Sur, Yes Sur!

    June 25th, 2020  |  33 mins 36 secs

    A huge week for the Mac. We start our WWDC coverage by breaking down whats coming for the Mac - both in terms of the operating system and the underlying silicon

  • 172: The One Before Dub-Dub

    June 18th, 2020  |  25 mins 34 secs
    wwdc

    WWDC is almost upon us. From rumored ARM based Macs to a redesigned iMac, this WWDC could be shaping up to be one of the biggest yet.

  • 171: The Modern Web

    June 11th, 2020  |  30 mins 20 secs

    Disillusioned with the modern web and with an urge to write, Dave Nott steps back into his web development past and sets out to find a suitable blogging platform.

  • 170: Earthquake!

    May 28th, 2020  |  29 mins 14 secs

    A slight drama this week, where Dave Wood gets hit by a 5.9 magnitude earthquake as we discuss Dave Nott's new toaster, how retail is pivoting in today's environment, and of course, the massive leak / rumor of the upcoming AR glasses

  • 169: I Really Like The Mac

    May 21st, 2020  |  25 mins 27 secs

    The 13" MacBook Pro serves to confuse us, more so when we consider the recent MacBook Air refresh. If ARM chips are coming to the Mac, are these machines the last of their kind?

  • 168: A tale of two hosts

    May 14th, 2020  |  38 mins 4 secs

    Dave Nott mulls a mesh wifi network to improve his home connectivity. Meanwhile, Dave Wood has pushed a big button to leave behind a web host he's used for years, and taken his sites to Linode.

  • 167: Motivationally speaking

    May 7th, 2020  |  25 mins 46 secs

    Dave Nott faces a sudden lack of motivation to work on iOS side projects. We discuss how the current climate may be having an impact, and what can be done to rebuild motivation when it vanishes.