Waiting for Review

Episode Archive

Episode Archive

156 episodes of Waiting for Review since the first episode, which aired on January 25th, 2017.

  • 156: An Untapped Seam

    February 20th, 2020  |  32 mins 16 secs

    Dave Wood gets an unexpected upgrade to a Series 5 Apples Watch, which sparks a new Apple Watch app idea. Dave Nott wins a battle with SwiftUI, but was it the right battle to have picked?

  • 155: Go Back to UIKit?

    February 13th, 2020  |  42 mins 11 secs

    After another week of frustration, Dave Nott begins to doubt the merits of continuing development with SwiftUI. Would it be easier to down tools and move back to the safety of UIKit to get the job finished?

  • 154: Is it broken?

    February 6th, 2020  |  26 mins 15 secs

    Dave Wood is in week 3 of moving his app from paid to freemium, and is beginning to have some regret. He's discovered some confounding factors, and maybe the opportunity is not what he thought it was.

  • 153: SwiftUI - I Have Feelings...

    January 30th, 2020  |  32 mins 12 secs

    Both Daves have spent the last week working with SwiftUI. Is it the right technology to choose when starting a new app? Or will we regret jumping in on the new shiny?

  • 152: Hitting a legal wall, and going Freemium

    January 23rd, 2020  |  36 mins 56 secs

    Dave Nott discovers some upcoming legislation that could have a big impact on an app he's making. Meanwhile Dave Wood catches up with his app's performance since making it free, and where the app is heading next.

  • 151: The Going Free Trial

    January 16th, 2020  |  26 mins 27 secs

    Can an app do better in the App Store by moving to a freemium model? Dave Wood is running an experiment with his video mixing app, GoVJ

  • 150: Raring To Go

    January 9th, 2020  |  37 mins 1 sec

    After a contemplative festive period, we check back in (after recounting Dave Nott's latest set of USB-C woes) and discuss our plans and direction for 2020.

  • 149: 2019 In Review

    January 2nd, 2020  |  34 mins 45 secs

    As we reach the end of 2019, we take a look back at our favourite Apple releases and products from this year, and cast a thought ahead at what may be coming up in 2020.

  • 148: Losing Your Mojo

    December 26th, 2019  |  38 mins 5 secs

    Dave Nott is struggling to find a groove with indie app development.

    We discuss ways to get new ideas going, minimum viable products, and splitting projects up into manageable chunks to get user feedback sooner rather than later.

  • 147: MVVM and SwiftUI

    December 19th, 2019  |  31 mins 8 secs

    Dave Wood has been on an adventure, working out how to architect a new project in SwiftUI. Dave Nott has many questions ...

  • 146: The Wait is Over

    December 12th, 2019  |  41 mins 22 secs

    The great wait is over. Dave Nott has his 16" MacBook, and strangely, has been spending rather a lot of time with it booted into Windows

  • 145: Going on a Side Quest

    December 5th, 2019  |  28 mins 12 secs

    Dave Nott has been off on a side quest these last few weeks. We discuss what he's been up to, and how easy it is to fall down a rabbit hole. Shiny things are fun, but what are the effects on your focus and other projects?

  • 144: Hallowed Be Its Name

    November 28th, 2019  |  39 mins 18 secs

    After months of waiting, and a further two weeks of agonising over specs, Dave Nott has finally ordered the 16" MacBook Pro. We talk about Dave's build to order choices, and his reasonings, which got us to thinking about where things might be going for the Mac...

  • 143: The 16" Macbook Pro Episode With Charlie Chapman

    November 17th, 2019  |  38 mins 38 secs

    This week we're joined by previous guest Charlie Chapman. After he and Dave Nott spent weeks campaigning for the machine, it only seemed right we have Charlie back on the show to discuss this wonderful new machine.

  • 142: New toys ahead

    November 14th, 2019  |  48 mins 36 secs

    In anticipation of this week's 16" MBP announcement we fall into a discussion of hardware and some end of year purchases. Meanwhile, Dave Wood is eying up an Apple Watch series 3, with a view of bringing a small app to life.

  • 141: Automating Screenshots

    November 7th, 2019  |  32 mins 31 secs
    15", 16", 2010, fastlane, go, govj, gpu, mac, macbook, mbp, pro, screen, screenshots, snapshot, vj

    Dave Wood explains the new screenshot automation process for his video mixing app, GoVJ.