Waiting for Review

Episode Archive

Episode Archive

175 episodes of Waiting for Review since the first episode, which aired on January 25th, 2017.

  • 175: Minimum Viable Architecture

    July 9th, 2020  |  38 mins 30 secs

    Dave Nott nearly sells his 16" MacBook Pro and Dave Wood falls down the rabbit hole (again!) of trying to find the perfect architecture for his SwiftUI projects

  • 174: Waiting For An iOS Gold Master

    July 2nd, 2020  |  31 mins 9 secs

    After narrowly avoiding rushing into beta 1 of iOS 14, we take a dive into some of the new features and functionality that iOS 14 will bring us

  • 173: Sur, Yes Sur!

    June 25th, 2020  |  33 mins 36 secs

    A huge week for the Mac. We start our WWDC coverage by breaking down whats coming for the Mac - both in terms of the operating system and the underlying silicon

  • 172: The One Before Dub-Dub

    June 18th, 2020  |  25 mins 34 secs
    wwdc

    WWDC is almost upon us. From rumored ARM based Macs to a redesigned iMac, this WWDC could be shaping up to be one of the biggest yet.

  • 171: The Modern Web

    June 11th, 2020  |  30 mins 20 secs

    Disillusioned with the modern web and with an urge to write, Dave Nott steps back into his web development past and sets out to find a suitable blogging platform.

  • 170: Earthquake!

    May 28th, 2020  |  29 mins 14 secs

    A slight drama this week, where Dave Wood gets hit by a 5.9 magnitude earthquake as we discuss Dave Nott's new toaster, how retail is pivoting in today's environment, and of course, the massive leak / rumor of the upcoming AR glasses

  • 169: I Really Like The Mac

    May 21st, 2020  |  25 mins 27 secs

    The 13" MacBook Pro serves to confuse us, more so when we consider the recent MacBook Air refresh. If ARM chips are coming to the Mac, are these machines the last of their kind?

  • 168: A tale of two hosts

    May 14th, 2020  |  38 mins 4 secs

    Dave Nott mulls a mesh wifi network to improve his home connectivity. Meanwhile, Dave Wood has pushed a big button to leave behind a web host he's used for years, and taken his sites to Linode.

  • 167: Motivationally speaking

    May 7th, 2020  |  25 mins 46 secs

    Dave Nott faces a sudden lack of motivation to work on iOS side projects. We discuss how the current climate may be having an impact, and what can be done to rebuild motivation when it vanishes.

  • 166: A Bumpy Landing

    April 30th, 2020  |  27 mins 22 secs

    After a bumpy start, Dave Nott has his new iPad. One problem, he doesn't really know what to do with it...

  • 165: Avoiding Time Sinks

    April 23rd, 2020  |  33 mins 14 secs
    approach, balance, development, hole, indie, ios, management, organisation, rabbit, sink, sinks, swift, swiftui, time, ui

    How we identify and avoid getting sucked into time sinks and rabbit holes. A timely episode as this week, Dave Nott has managed to (almost) dodge one while designing his new iOS app.

  • 164: Why Do I Even Make Apps?

    April 16th, 2020  |  37 mins 46 secs

    Dave Nott has taken an iOS dev hiatus these last few weeks. He's had time to consider his motivations for making apps at all and wonders what will become of his next iOS app once it's complete. Set up an indie-ios-shop again, or keep it as a portfolio piece?

  • 163: Prime Time

    April 9th, 2020  |  28 mins 21 secs

    We’ve started diving deeper into our on demand tv services. We discuss our respective experiences of Apple TV and the news of tighter integration of Amazon’s Prime video to the platform.

  • 162: Lockdown

    April 2nd, 2020  |  30 mins 20 secs

    With both of us in lockdown on our respective sides of the globe, we discuss how we're adjusting, keeping up with our development projects and think about what lasting good could potentially come from this terribly sad situation.

  • 161: Happy Thoughts

    March 26th, 2020  |  34 mins 51 secs

    We hope you're all staying safe and well. With everything going on right now, we decided to take some comfort in the shiney new Apple toys that landed recently, and to indulge ourselves in the details of it all.

  • 160: I Bumped My Head

    March 19th, 2020  |  25 mins 17 secs

    Dave Wood returns to the show after taking some time out to recover from a bump to head. We catch up with how Dave is recovering.