Waiting for Review

Two iOS developers from opposite corners of the globe, attempting to make sense of life, technology and everything else in between.

About the show

A weekly discussion between two iOS developers and special guests from the community.

We talk about the Apple ecosystem, our lives, our projects, and usually get far too excited about the release of Apple products.

Waiting for Review is hosted by Dave Nott, in the UK, and David Wood, in New Zealand.

Waiting for Review on social media

Episodes

  • 146: The Wait is Over

    December 12th, 2019  |  41 mins 22 secs

    The great wait is over. Dave Nott has his 16" MacBook, and strangely, has been spending rather a lot of time with it booted into Windows

  • 145: Going on a Side Quest

    December 5th, 2019  |  28 mins 12 secs

    Dave Nott has been off on a side quest these last few weeks. We discuss what he's been up to, and how easy it is to fall down a rabbit hole. Shiny things are fun, but what are the effects on your focus and other projects?

  • 144: Hallowed Be Its Name

    November 28th, 2019  |  39 mins 18 secs

    After months of waiting, and a further two weeks of agonising over specs, Dave Nott has finally ordered the 16" MacBook Pro. We talk about Dave's build to order choices, and his reasonings, which got us to thinking about where things might be going for the Mac...

  • 143: The 16" Macbook Pro Episode With Charlie Chapman

    November 17th, 2019  |  38 mins 38 secs

    This week we're joined by previous guest Charlie Chapman. After he and Dave Nott spent weeks campaigning for the machine, it only seemed right we have Charlie back on the show to discuss this wonderful new machine.

  • 142: New toys ahead

    November 14th, 2019  |  48 mins 36 secs

    In anticipation of this week's 16" MBP announcement we fall into a discussion of hardware and some end of year purchases. Meanwhile, Dave Wood is eying up an Apple Watch series 3, with a view of bringing a small app to life.

  • 141: Automating Screenshots

    November 7th, 2019  |  32 mins 31 secs
    15", 16", 2010, fastlane, go, govj, gpu, mac, macbook, mbp, pro, screen, screenshots, snapshot, vj

    Dave Wood explains the new screenshot automation process for his video mixing app, GoVJ.

  • 140: The Accidental Mac App

    October 31st, 2019  |  34 mins 10 secs

    Dave Nott has accidentally fallen into making a Mac app, thanks to Catalyst. Side by side with AppKit and UIKit rendered versions of the same app, Dave wonders what makes a Mac app?

  • 139: Reading Tea Leaves

    October 24th, 2019  |  37 mins 44 secs

    A single leaked image about the 16" and we're straight into reading the tea leaves for the new MacBook Pro. It's not quite looking like the machine Dave Nott has pined for, but the predictions are still fuzzy as we record.

    Dave Nott has a wobble with his indie development plans and is second guessing which project he should pick up with the time he has.

  • 138: Catalyst Apps

    October 17th, 2019  |  28 mins 34 secs

    macOS Catalina is here, which means Catalyst (formerly known as Marzipan) is here! We discuss Catalyst, what it means for the platform and how it may impact how we build apps.

  • 137: Daryl Baxter (137th Episode Spectacular!)

    October 10th, 2019  |  1 hr 5 mins

    We're joined by our good friend Daryl Baxter. A writer and podcaster who covers gaming with a vintage lens, iPad, and Apple.

  • 136: Commandlines and websites

    October 3rd, 2019  |  30 mins 25 secs

    While Dave Nott awaits announcements of new Macbook Pro hardware, he's getting deeper into his Raspberry Pi. Meanwhile, Dave Wood is getting back into marketing mode.

  • 135: There Should Be A "Grey Mode"

    September 26th, 2019  |  44 mins 42 secs

    Dave Nott doesn't like iOS 13's Dark Mode, and tries to figure out some technical challenges with the new app he's developing. We troubleshoot live on the show and explore the options.

  • 134: Heidi and Ish - Capsicum Creators!

    September 19th, 2019  |  1 hr 18 mins

    In a special episode, our guests are Heidi and Ish, creators of Capsicum App and more. We welcome them back to the show to talk about their launch experiences, the highs and lows of seeing massive public interest on day one, and where they're taking it next.

  • 133: By Iteration Only

    September 12th, 2019  |  42 mins 21 secs
    event, iphone, keynote

    The Apple September 2019 hardware event arrived like an early Christmas! New phones, iPads, watches and more 🎉

    A solid set of updates, with something for everyone. We look across the new line up, and the things in the event that stood out.

  • Episode 132: Charlie Chapman and Dark Noise

    September 5th, 2019  |  57 mins 8 secs
    app store, indie, interview, launch

    We return, fresh from our summer/winter break, with a brand new season!

    This week we have a very special guest on the show, Charlie Chapman, developer of the app Dark Noise.

  • Episode 131: Season finale

    July 25th, 2019  |  30 mins 42 secs

    Dave Nott installs Catalina on his unsupported Mac to dig into Xcode 11 and Swift UI... Meanwhile we've a bit of an announcement to make. We're taking a short break across the summer (in the Northern hemisphere at least!), and will be back in a few...