Waiting For Review

Interviews from the iOS indie community, with David Gary Wood

About the show

A fortnightly podcast with interviews from the iOS indie community.

Developers share their stories so far, and tell us more about their apps.

Hosted by David Gary Wood ✨

Waiting For Review on social media

Episodes

  • S2E13: Austin Blake - MityNote, 2196

    August 29th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  29 mins 38 secs

    Austin is a prolific indie developer from Salt Lake City in the US. He creates beautiful apps in the productivity niche. We talk subscriptions, marketing, and subscriptions.

  • S2E12: Daniel Jilg - App Telemetry, WWDC, and life🐈

    June 21st, 2021  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 4 mins

    I’m joined by Daniel Jilg, developer of AppTelemetry (lightweight analytics that’s not evil). We talked at the start of season 2 of this podcast, and I thought I’d catch up with him again about his product App Telemetry. Join us for an hour's conversation about app development, bikes, cats, WWDC, and life in general!

  • S2E11 - David Niemeijer, AssistiveWare

    May 5th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  45 mins 19 secs

    AssistiveWare make Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) apps, that help many people communicate better in their lives. AssistiveWare have a long history of Apple applications and iOS. Founder David Niemeijer joins me to tell me more about what they do. We talk product development, market fit, pricing, and about his company's broader mission.

  • S2E10 - Malin Sundberg, Kai Dombrowski - Orbit

    April 19th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 1 min

    Orbit is a time tracking and invoicing app for people who want to get paid. Orbit features a beautiful design, supports Mac, iPad and iPhone, and was launched just under a year ago in June 2020. We discuss their travels around the world, SwiftUI, developing and launching the app 🚀

  • S2E9 - Chris Hefferman - LoTR Quiz, MyAdsense, Fireside Swift

    April 7th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  37 mins 22 secs

    Chris is the iOS developer behind LoTR Quiz, and MyAdsense. Since launching his apps in the App Store, he's made the leap into iOS development full time, changing his career in the process. We talk about all of this, joining the Fireside Swift crew on their podcast, being an active member of the iOS development community!

  • S2E8 - Josh Holtz, Fastlane & Otter RSS

    March 4th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  46 mins 47 secs

    I invited Josh on the show to tell us all about how he became the superstar he is today. We dig into his progression from first PR to becoming lead maintainer of Fastlane. We talk RSS and Otters.

  • S2E7 - Bobby Bobak, Filtru

    February 8th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  33 mins 35 secs

    Bobby is the developer of Filtru, a brilliant coffee timer that helps people create their perfect brew. He's a self taught developer, with an extremely sharp design eye and background. His apps are joyful to use and pop when they're on screen. We catch up about how he learnt development, and how he built and launched Filtru.

  • S2E6 - Victor Marks, Fix your product fix your launch

    January 23rd, 2021  |  Season 2  |  49 mins 32 secs

    Victor is a product designer, blogger, and tech industry heavy weight. You may have read some of his many articles over at AppleInsider and Knapsack.news. Victor is full of insight on product development, marketing and launching, that every indie developer ought to hear!

  • S2E5 - Gary Ismay, Meandr

    January 9th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  29 mins 23 secs

    Gary is a seasoned software developer and veteran of tech. We talk about Gary's journey into iOS development, and his latest indie Application, Meandr, a beautiful app for mapping walks

  • S2E4 - James Thomson, PCalc

    December 26th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  42 mins

    I'm joined in this episode by James Thomson. James almost needs no introduction. He’s best known for being the developer of PCalc, the scientific calculator that you should be using for iOS and Mac.

  • S2E3 - Ben Guerrette, Pixite

    December 12th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  50 mins 38 secs

    Ben Guerrette is the creative director of Pixite. I thought I’d catch up with him today to find out more about what makes him and the company tick, and how Pixite has adapted to changing App Store conditions over the years

  • S2E2: Michael Tigas, Focused Work

    November 28th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 7 mins

    Michael is the creator of Focused Work, the iOS app that lets you stay productive. Michael has also journaled each day whilst developing Focused Work, and is blogging about his app development process.

  • S2E1: Daniel Jilg, Telemetry

    November 14th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  47 mins 29 secs

    An Interview with Daniel Jilg, a developer who is currently working on a brand new analytics service for iOS applications.Telemetry, lightweight analytics that's not evil!

  • 183: What's next for Waiting For Review?

    October 29th, 2020  |  2 mins 31 secs

    What's next for Waiting For Review ... ?

  • 182: Hitting the SwiftUI edge

    August 28th, 2020  |  31 mins 2 secs

    After some accidental headphone discussion, we catch up with how Dave Wood has been getting on with his SwiftUI journey

  • 181: Get on the list!

    August 21st, 2020  |  28 mins 49 secs

    We failed not to talk about Epic and Apple, the App Store, and many other things. Meanwhile, Dave Wood started a twitter thread for iOS indie apps and their developers