Waiting For Review

Interviews from the iOS indie community, with David Gary Wood

About the show

A fortnightly podcast with interviews from the iOS indie community.

Developers share their stories so far, and tell us more about their apps.

Hosted by David Gary Wood ✨

Waiting For Review on social media

Episodes

  • S2E5 - Gary Ismay, Meandr

    January 9th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  29 mins 23 secs

    Gary is a seasoned software developer and veteran of tech. We talk about Gary's journey into iOS development, and his latest indie Application, Meandr, a beautiful app for mapping walks

  • S2E4 - James Thomson, PCalc

    December 26th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  42 mins

    I'm joined in this episode by James Thomson. James almost needs no introduction. He’s best known for being the developer of PCalc, the scientific calculator that you should be using for iOS and Mac.

  • S2E3 - Ben Guerrette, Pixite

    December 12th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  50 mins 38 secs

    Ben Guerrette is the creative director of Pixite. I thought I’d catch up with him today to find out more about what makes him and the company tick, and how Pixite has adapted to changing App Store conditions over the years

  • S2E2: Michael Tigas, Focused Work

    November 28th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 7 mins

    Michael is the creator of Focused Work, the iOS app that lets you stay productive. Michael has also journaled each day whilst developing Focused Work, and is blogging about his app development process.

  • S2E1: Daniel Jilg, Telemetry

    November 14th, 2020  |  Season 2  |  47 mins 29 secs

    An Interview with Daniel Jilg, a developer who is currently working on a brand new analytics service for iOS applications.Telemetry, lightweight analytics that's not evil!

  • 183: What's next for Waiting For Review?

    October 29th, 2020  |  2 mins 31 secs

    What's next for Waiting For Review ... ?

  • 182: Hitting the SwiftUI edge

    August 28th, 2020  |  31 mins 2 secs

    After some accidental headphone discussion, we catch up with how Dave Wood has been getting on with his SwiftUI journey

  • 181: Get on the list!

    August 21st, 2020  |  28 mins 49 secs

    We failed not to talk about Epic and Apple, the App Store, and many other things. Meanwhile, Dave Wood started a twitter thread for iOS indie apps and their developers

  • 180: All Alone

    August 14th, 2020  |  26 mins 39 secs

    Dave Wood is recovering well from his concussion, and making steady progress with the SwiftUI rebuild of his video mixing app.
    Meanwhile, Dave Nott is home alone, and considering leaving iOS for the world of video streaming, and online gaming.

  • 179: I Made An App

    August 7th, 2020  |  42 mins 46 secs

    This week, we think about PC vs Mac pricing, and how Apple remain relevant and appealing in the face of such incredible value from the PC market. Apple Silicon, and finally, Dave Nott built an app... !

  • 178: Just Enough To Be Dangerous

    July 31st, 2020  |  27 mins 11 secs

    Dave Nott can't enough of Big Sur (despite having installed it in the wrong way), and Dave Wood sets out on a big update to his app using SwiftUI

  • 177: A Blurry Line

    July 24th, 2020  |  30 mins 37 secs

    An eclectic episode this week as we discuss making an iCloud Drive based music player (and why it might not be a great idea!).

    This makes us wonder, when does a hobby become a business, and a business become a hobby? - it's a blurry line.

  • 176: Fool Me Once...

    July 17th, 2020  |  27 mins 45 secs

    This week we discuss platforms, and what makes one catch on, whilst others fail. We touch upon the issues certain apps have had with a certain SDK, and Dave Wood catches up with his SwiftUI app architecture

  • 175: Minimum Viable Architecture

    July 10th, 2020  |  38 mins 30 secs

    Dave Nott nearly sells his 16" MacBook Pro and Dave Wood falls down the rabbit hole (again!) of trying to find the perfect architecture for his SwiftUI projects

  • 174: Waiting For An iOS Gold Master

    July 3rd, 2020  |  31 mins 9 secs

    After narrowly avoiding rushing into beta 1 of iOS 14, we take a dive into some of the new features and functionality that iOS 14 will bring us

  • 173: Sur, Yes Sur!

    June 26th, 2020  |  33 mins 36 secs

    A huge week for the Mac. We start our WWDC coverage by breaking down whats coming for the Mac - both in terms of the operating system and the underlying silicon