Waiting For Review

A fortnightly show between two iOS indie developers, David Gary Wood and Daniel Jilg

About the show

The show is a fortnightly catch up between David Gary Wood, and Daniel Jilg!

David is the longtime host of the show, an iOS development coach based in Wellington, New Zealand. His side project applications include GoVJ, and he is currently working on several small projects and a top-secret video orientated one ("Magnum")

Daniel is an establish independent developer based in the south of Germany. He is the founder of: Telemetry Deck, "Lightweight Analytics That's Not Evil", an analytics service for apps that provides speedy and accurate analytics whilst keeping user's data private and anonymised.

Waiting For Review on social media

Episodes

  • S3E7: Have co-working space will code πŸš²πŸ§‘β€πŸ’»

    May 15th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  56 mins 23 secs

    A wide ranging episode this time. Dave adds in-app purchases and subscriptions to his app GoVJ, meanwhile Daniel shows off TelemetryDeck's live signal stats, and talks about his new co-working space!

  • S3E6: To test, or not to test? βœ…

    April 15th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  1 hr 13 mins

    Daniel quizzes Dave on how he approaches automated testing in his day-job vs his solo indie app endeavours.

    How much is too much for a solo developer? What's a good depth of testing for different sizes of project and team?

  • S3E5: ProductHunt and TestFlight πŸš€

    March 29th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  39 mins 50 secs

    Daniel launches TelemetryDeck on ProductHunt, learning lessons along the away πŸš€ and Dave has sent GoVJ 2 out to TestFlight, as he starts trying to progress version 2.0 towards release πŸ”œ

  • S3E4: Just keep shipping πŸ›³

    March 13th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  1 hr 3 mins
    2, analytics, daniel, david, deck, go, govj, jilg, macos, magnum, performance, project, query, server, side, swift, swiftui, telemetry, vapor, vj, wood

    Dave has hit a mental block with "Project Magnum", with a lagging ARView... Meanwhile, Daniel has been super productive improving performance in TelemetryDeck

  • S3E3: Will Bishop, building Pestle from a van 🚐

    February 27th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  1 hr 1 min
    app, bishop, chef, daniel, dave, david, develop, developer, development, indie, ios, jilg, macos, pestle, road, swift, van, will, wood

    Daniel and David are joined by Australian special guest Will Bishop. Will is the developer of the cooking and recipes app, Pestle. Will is currently on the road in Australia, travelling by van. He takes time out to catch up with us and tell us all about his apps, lifestyle, and developer journey.

  • S3E2: Asynchronously Awaiting For Review

    February 12th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  1 hr 8 mins
    app, apple, async, await, dev, development, indie, ios, magnum, rtc, server, swift, telemetry, testing, ui, unit, vapor, web, webrtc

    Daniel shares a cautionary tale. We talk about testing, Swift on the Server (Vapor), Async / Await and a little bonus WebRTC!

  • S3E1: WFR Reboot! πŸš€

    January 27th, 2022  |  Season 3  |  48 mins 57 secs

    Join David Gary Wood, and new co-host, Daniel Jilg! We catch up about our development lives, Daniel's recent time split on marketing, and Dave's thoughts around Augmented Reality

  • S2E15: Daryl Baxter

    November 16th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  56 mins 1 sec

    Daryl Baxter joins me on the show to talk about what makes for a good approach for indie developers when reaching out to the press, M1 MacBook Pros, and his new book: The Making Of Tomb Raider!

  • S2E14: David Gary Wood ✨

    October 23rd, 2021  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 20 mins

    The lovely smooth talking Daniel Jilg of TelemetryDeck turns the tables, hosts the Waiting For Review, and interviews me!

    Daniel talks to me about my entry into iOS development. We cover indie development, moving to New Zealand, how I develop and test apps and what I’m shipping next πŸš€

  • S2E13: Austin Blake - MityNote, 2196

    August 29th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  29 mins 38 secs

    Austin is a prolific indie developer from Salt Lake City in the US. He creates beautiful apps in the productivity niche. We talk subscriptions, marketing, and subscriptions.

  • S2E12: Daniel Jilg - TelemetryDeck, WWDC, and life🐈

    June 21st, 2021  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 4 mins

    I’m joined by Daniel Jilg, developer of TelemetryDeck (lightweight analytics that’s not evil). We talked at the start of season 2 of this podcast, and I thought I’d catch up with him again about his product App Telemetry. Join us for an hour's conversation about app development, bikes, cats, WWDC, and life in general!

  • S2E11 - David Niemeijer, AssistiveWare

    May 5th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  45 mins 19 secs

    AssistiveWare make Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC) apps, that help many people communicate better in their lives. AssistiveWare have a long history of Apple applications and iOS. Founder David Niemeijer joins me to tell me more about what they do. We talk product development, market fit, pricing, and about his company's broader mission.

  • S2E10 - Malin Sundberg, Kai Dombrowski - Orbit

    April 19th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  1 hr 1 min

    Orbit is a time tracking and invoicing app for people who want to get paid. Orbit features a beautiful design, supports Mac, iPad and iPhone, and was launched just under a year ago in June 2020. We discuss their travels around the world, SwiftUI, developing and launching the app πŸš€

  • S2E9 - Chris Hefferman - LoTR Quiz, MyAdsense, Fireside Swift

    April 7th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  37 mins 22 secs

    Chris is the iOS developer behind LoTR Quiz, and MyAdsense. Since launching his apps in the App Store, he's made the leap into iOS development full time, changing his career in the process. We talk about all of this, joining the Fireside Swift crew on their podcast, being an active member of the iOS development community!

  • S2E8 - Josh Holtz, Fastlane & Otter RSS

    March 4th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  46 mins 47 secs

    I invited Josh on the show to tell us all about how he became the superstar he is today. We dig into his progression from first PR to becoming lead maintainer of Fastlane. We talk RSS and Otters.

  • S2E7 - Bobby Bobak, Filtru

    February 8th, 2021  |  Season 2  |  33 mins 35 secs

    Bobby is the developer of Filtru, a brilliant coffee timer that helps people create their perfect brew. He's a self taught developer, with an extremely sharp design eye and background. His apps are joyful to use and pop when they're on screen. We catch up about how he learnt development, and how he built and launched Filtru.